Cruise review

10 04 2015

For those who’ve been following along, I went on my first-ever cruise last month — 7 nights in the Caribbean aboard the Oceania Riviera. TripAdvisor doesn’t seem to take reviews for cruise ships, and I don’t want to join, so I’ll post my review here.


This was my first-time cruise. My friend and I shared a Penthouse stateroom, which was a great size (420 sq ft) for two people. They split the Queen bed into two singles.


  • Fantastic food in all restaurants, every time. My favourite specialty restaurants were Jacques and Toscana
  • Impeccable service in the stateroom and restaurants; not as good around the pool
  • Gorgeous spacious Penthouse stateroom (Deck 10, midship location)
  • Luxurious bed linen and beds — slept the best I’ve slept in a long time
  • No activities for children or teens, so there weren’t many of either on board. Those that were on board were well-behaved.
  • Small number of people on board (1250 max), so easy to get to and from things and no long lines for anything
  • Embarkation and disembarkation processes were smooth and practiced, as was tendering people to shore in Cozumel, Trujillo, and Belize City
  • HEAPS of storage in the Penthouse stateroom — we were still finding storage hidey-holes 2 days into the cruise
  • Veranda is great for just observing, relaxing, etc. Plenty of room.
  • Afternoon canapes were a delight, even if we didn’t always get exactly what we’d requested. In fact, we usually got more.
  • Our butler, Jemeesh, was a delight and nothing was too hard for him.
  • Culinary Center was great.


  • Internet access was spotty, but usually worked enough for checking emails. Forget about uploading photos!
  • Internet access was expensive at US$30 per day
  • Internet access was for ONE device in a room at ONE time. There were two of us, and we had to coordinate who was on and when — we could use multiple devices (phones, tablets, laptops), but only ONE could be logged in at any time. For $30/day, I thought that was an unnecessary restriction.
  • A small percentage of passengers on board were quite rude, pushing into line/elevators etc. in front of others. However, most people seemed lovely.
  • Artists Loft — nothing advertised prior to the cruise about who the artist was or what he would teach/demonstrate. It was all very confusing, even after I spoke to his wife in the artists loft one day. I was interested in this, but never attended as I got the impression he was only demonstrating oil and palette knife techniques, neither of which interested me.
  • Pool is VERY small. You can’t swim in it, only immerse your body. The pool on the Spa Terrace is only a HOT jacuzzi-style therapeutic pool, also not for swimming, and too hot to stay in on a Caribbean cruise. Not enough space/lounges on the Spa Terrace for all those wanting access.

P1030631 P1030630 P1030642 P1030641



One response

10 04 2015

Thanks so much for your REAL assessment of your experience. You mentioned items that would have impacted/impressed me, also. Your room was a surprise that was very pleasant to me and confirmed my thoughts that if I were to book a cruise, mid-ship and such accommodations would be my selection(s).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: